Hidden Brain
Gratis podcast

Hidden Brain

Podcast af Hidden Brain, Shankar Vedantam

Dette er en gratis podcast, som du kan lytte til på alle podcast-afspillere. Du kan få adgang til alle gratis shows i Podimo-appen uden et abonnement.

Shankar Vedantam uses science and storytelling to reveal the unconscious patterns that drive human behavior, shape our choices and direct our relationships. 

Andre eksklusive shows

Det får du

Ubegrænset adgang til eksklusive podcasts
Ingen reklamer
20 timers lydbøger / måned
Efter prøveperioden kun 79,00 kr. / måned. Ingen binding.

Alle episoder

501 episoder
episode The Curious Science of Cravings artwork
The Curious Science of Cravings
We've all had those days when all we want is a little treat. Maybe it's a bag of chips, an ice cream sundae or a glass of wine. But sometimes, these desires become all-consuming. This week on the show, psychiatrist Judson Brewer [https://www.brown.edu/public-health/mindfulness/people/judson-brewer-md-phd] helps us understand the science of cravings, and how we should respond to them.  If you liked today's conversation, be sure to check out other Hidden Brain episodes about ways to regain a feeling of control over your life: Creatures of Habit [https://hiddenbrain.org/podcast/creatures-of-habit/] and Taking Control of Your Time [https://hiddenbrain.org/podcast/taking-control-of-your-time/].
15. apr. 2024 - 49 min
episode What Is Normal? artwork
What Is Normal?
Anthropologist Tom Pearson [https://www.uwstout.edu/directory/pearsont] was devastated after his daughter Michaela was diagnosed with Down syndrome. When he began to examine that emotional response, he found himself wrestling with questions that have roiled his field for decades. Early anthropologists would often compare people of different backgrounds and abilities, asking questions like: How is one group different from another? Which one is stronger or smarter? And how do we understand people who don’t fit our expectations? This week, we talk with Pearson about his family’s story, and the evolution of our thinking on disability and difference. If you liked today's show, be sure to check out these classic Hidden Brain episodes: "Emma, Carrie, Vivian" [https://hiddenbrain.org/podcast/emma-carrie-vivian/] "Why You're Smarter than You Think" [https://hiddenbrain.org/podcast/why-youre-smarter-than-you-think/]
08. apr. 2024 - 50 min
episode The Transformative Ideas of Daniel Kahneman artwork
The Transformative Ideas of Daniel Kahneman
If you've ever taken an economics class, you were probably taught that people are rational. But about 50 years ago, the psychologists Daniel Kahneman and Amos Tversky began to chip away at this basic assumption. In doing so, they transformed our understanding of human behavior. This week, we remember Kahneman, who recently died at the age of 90, by revisiting our 2018 and 2021 conversations with him.  If you enjoyed this look at the work of Daniel Kahneman, you might also enjoy our conversations about behavioral economics with Kahneman's friend and collaborator Richard Thaler:  Misbehaving with Richard Thaler  [https://hiddenbrain.org/podcast/misbehaving-with-richard-thaler/] Follow the Anomalies  [https://hiddenbrain.org/podcast/follow-the-anomalies/]
01. apr. 2024 - 1 h 38 min
episode Are You Listening? artwork
Are You Listening?
Have you ever sat across from your spouse, colleague or friend and realized that while they may be hearing what you're saying, they aren't actually listening? Poor listening can lead to arguments, hurt feelings, and fractured relationships. But the good news is that active, thoughtful listening can profoundly benefit both people in the conversation. This week on the show, psychologist Guy Itzchakov [https://guyitzchakov.haifa.ac.il/] helps us understand where interactions go awry, and how to become a more attentive listener.  For more of our work on how to better connect with the people in your life, check out these episodes:  Why Conversations Go Wrong [https://hiddenbrain.org/podcast/why-conversations-go-wrong/] with Deborah Tannen A Secret Source of Connection [https://hiddenbrain.org/podcast/a-secret-source-of-connection/] with Amit Kumar Relationships 2.0: What Makes Relationships Thrive [https://hiddenbrain.org/podcast/what-makes-relationships-thrive/] with Harry Reis Relationships 2.0: How to Keep Conflict from Spiraling [https://hiddenbrain.org/podcast/relationships-2-0-how-to-keep-conflict-from-spiraling/] with Julia Minson
25. mar. 2024 - 49 min
episode The Ventilator artwork
The Ventilator
Many of us believe we know how we’d choose to die. We have a sense of how we’d respond to a diagnosis of an incurable illness. This week, we revisit a 2019 episode featuring one family’s decades-long conversation about dying. What they found is that the people we are when death is far in the distance may not be the people we become when death is near. If you enjoyed today's episode, here are some more classic Hidden Brain episodes you might like: The Cowboy Philosopher [https://hiddenbrain.org/podcast/the-tale-of-the-cowboy-philosopher/] When You Need It To Be True  [https://hiddenbrain.org/podcast/when-you-need-it-to-be-true/] Me, Myself, and Ikea  [https://hiddenbrain.org/podcast/me-myself-and-ikea/] Thanks for listening!
18. mar. 2024 - 49 min

Populære lydbøger

En fantastisk app med et enormt stort udvalg af spændende podcasts. Podimo formår virkelig at lave godt indhold, der takler de lidt mere svære emner. At der så også er lydbøger oveni til en billig pris, gør at det er blevet min favorit app.
Rigtig god tjeneste med gode eksklusive podcasts og derudover et kæmpe udvalg af podcasts og lydbøger. Kan varmt anbefales, om ikke andet så udelukkende pga Dårligdommerne, Klovn podcast, Hakkedrengene og Han duo 😁 👍
Podimo er blevet uundværlig! Til lange bilture, hverdagen, rengøringen og i det hele taget, når man trænger til lidt adspredelse.

Tilgængelig overalt

Lyt til Podimo på din telefon, tablet, computer eller i bilen!

Et univers af underholdning på lyd

Tusindvis af lydbøger og eksklusive podcasts

Ingen reklamer

Spild ikke tiden på at lytte til reklamepauser, når du lytter til Podimos indhold.

Andre eksklusive shows

Populære lydbøger