Freakonomics Radio
Gratis podcast

Freakonomics Radio

Podcast af Freakonomics Radio + Stitcher

Dette er en gratis podcast, som du kan lytte til på alle podcast-afspillere. Du kan få adgang til alle gratis shows i Podimo-appen uden et abonnement.

Freakonomics co-author Stephen J. Dubner uncovers the hidden side of everything. Why is it safer to fly in an airplane than drive a car? How do we decide whom to marry? Why is the media so full of bad news? Also: things you never knew you wanted to know about wolves, bananas, pollution, search engines, and the quirks of human behavior. Join the Freakonomics Radio Plus membership program for weekly member-only episodes of Freakonomics Radio. You’ll also get every show in our network without ads. To sign up, visit our show page on Apple Podcasts or go to freakonomics.com/plus. 

Andre eksklusive shows

Det får du

Seneste episoder

578. Water, Water Everywhere — But You Have to Stop and Think
What surprises lurk in our sewage? How did racist city planners end up saving Black lives? Why does Arizona grow hay for cows in Saudi Arabia? Three strange stories about the most fundamental substance we all take for granted.   * SOURCES: * Brian Beach [https://as.vanderbilt.edu/economics/bio/brian-beach/], professor of economics at Vanderbilt University. * Marc Johnson [https://medicine.missouri.edu/faculty/marc-johnson-phd], professor of molecular microbiology and immunology at the University of Missouri School of Medicine. * Amy Kirby [https://www.cgswash.org/coreinvestigators/amy-e-kirby-ph-d/], program lead for the National Wastewater Surveillance System at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. * Natalie Koch [https://www.maxwell.syr.edu/directory/natalie-koch], professor of geography at Syracuse University.   * RESOURCES: * Arid Empire: The Entangled Fates of Arizona and Arabia [https://amzn.to/3wy2aQt], by Natalie Koch (2023). * "How a Saudi Firm Tapped a Gusher of Water in Drought-Stricken Arizona [https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/2023/07/16/fondomonte-arizona-drought-saudi-farm-water/]," by Isaac Stanley-Becker, Joshua Partlow, and Yvonne Wingett Sanchez (The Washington Post, 2023). * "Arizona Is in a Race to the Bottom of Its Water Wells, With Saudi Arabia’s Help [https://www.nytimes.com/2022/12/26/opinion/arizona-water-colorado-river-saudi-arabia.html]," by Natalie Koch (The New York Times, 2022). * "Tracing the Origin of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron-Like Spike Sequences Detected in Wastewater [https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2022.10.28.22281553v1]," by Martin Shafer, Devon Gregory, Marc Johnson, et al. (medRxiv, 2022). * "Water and Waste: A History of Reluctant Policymaking in U.S. Cities [https://brianbbeach.github.io/Materials/WP/Beach_Water_Waste.pdf]," by Brian Beach (Working Paper, 2022). * Water, Race, and Disease [https://amzn.to/3wBi0tB], by Werner Troesken (2004). * COVID Data Tracker: Wastewater Surveillance [https://covid.cdc.gov/covid-data-tracker/#wastewater-surveillance], by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.   * EXTRAS: * "What Is Sportswashing (and Does It Work)? [https://freakonomics.com/podcast/what-is-sportswashing-and-does-it-work/]" by Freakonomics Radio (2022). * "Covid-19 [https://freakonomics.com/podcast-tag/covid-19/]," series by Freakonomics Radio (2020-2021).
52 min - I går
Is Google Getting Worse? (Update)
It used to feel like magic. Now it can feel like a set of cheap tricks. Is the problem with Google — or with us? And is Google Search finally facing a real rival, in the form of A.I.-powered “answer engines”?    * SOURCES: * Marissa Mayer [https://www.linkedin.com/in/marissamayer/], co-founder of Sunshine; former C.E.O. of Yahoo! and vice president at Google. * Ryan McDevitt [https://www.fuqua.duke.edu/faculty/ryan-mcdevitt]; professor of economics at Duke University. * Tim Hwang [https://timhwang.org/], media researcher and author; former Google employee. * Elizabeth Reid [https://www.linkedin.com/in/elizabeth-reid-56356724/], vice president of Search at Google. * Aravind Srinivas [https://www.linkedin.com/in/aravind-srinivas-16051987], C.E.O. and co-founder of Perplexity. * Jeremy Stoppelman [https://www.linkedin.com/in/jeremystoppelman/], C.E.O. and co-founder of Yelp.   * RESOURCES: * “A Fraudster Who Just Can’t Seem to Stop … Selling Eyeglasses [https://www.nytimes.com/2022/02/25/business/vitaly-borker-glasses-retail.html],” by David Segal (The New York Times, 2022). * Subprime Attention Crisis: Advertising and the Time Bomb at the Heart of the Internet [https://amzn.to/3XalHiM], by Tim Hwang (2020). * “Complaint: U.S. and Plaintiff States v. Google LLC [https://www.justice.gov/atr/case-document/file/1329131/download],” by the U.S. Department of Justice (2020). * “Fake Online Locksmiths May Be Out to Pick Your Pocket, Too [https://www.nytimes.com/2016/01/31/business/fake-online-locksmiths-may-be-out-to-pick-your-pocket-too.html],” by David Segal (The New York Times, 2016). * “‘A’ Business by Any Other Name: Firm Name Choice as a Signal of Firm Quality [https://www.jstor.org/stable/10.1086/676333],” by Ryan C. McDevitt (Journal of Political Economy, 2014). * In the Plex: How Google Thinks, Works, and Shapes Our Lives [https://amzn.to/3gcb3HE], by Steven Levy (2011). * “The Anatomy of a Large-Scale Hypertextual Web Search Engine [http://infolab.stanford.edu/~backrub/google.html],” by Sergey Brin and Lawrence Page (Computer Networks and ISDN Systems, 1998).   * EXTRAS: * “Is Dialysis a Test Case of Medicare for All? [https://freakonomics.com/podcast/is-dialysis-a-test-case-of-medicare-for-all-ep-457/]” by Freakonomics Radio (2021). * “How Big is My Penis? (And Other Things We Ask Google) [https://freakonomics.com/podcast/how-big-is-my-penis-and-other-things-we-ask-google/],” by Freakonomics Radio (2017).
56 min - 22. feb. 2024
Extra: Mr. Feynman Takes a Trip — But Doesn’t Fall
A wide-open conversation with three women who guided Richard Feynman through some big adventures at the Esalen Institute. (Part of our Feynman series [https://freakonomics.com/podcast-tag/richard-feynman/].)   * SOURCES:  * Barbara Berg, friend of Richard Feynman. * Cheryl Haley, friend of Richard Feynman. * Debby Harlow, friend of Richard Feynma * Sam Stern, content creator at the Esalen Institute.   * EXTRAS:  * Richard Feynman Series [https://freakonomics.com/podcast-tag/richard-feynman/], by Freakonomics Radio (2024). * "The Future of Therapy Is Psychedelic [https://freakonomics.com/podcast/the-future-of-therapy-is-psychedelic/]," by People I (Mostly) Admire (2023).
47 min - 19. feb. 2024

Populære lydbøger

En fantastisk app med et enormt stort udvalg af spændende podcasts. Podimo formår virkelig at lave godt indhold, der takler de lidt mere svære emner. At der så også er lydbøger oveni til en billig pris, gør at det er blevet min favorit app.
Rigtig god tjeneste med gode eksklusive podcasts og derudover et kæmpe udvalg af podcasts og lydbøger. Kan varmt anbefales, om ikke andet så udelukkende pga Dårligdommerne, Klovn podcast, Hakkedrengene og Han duo 😁 👍
Podimo er blevet uundværlig! Til lange bilture, hverdagen, rengøringen og i det hele taget, når man trænger til lidt adspredelse.

Tilgængelig overalt

Lyt til Podimo på din telefon, tablet, computer eller i bilen!

Et univers af underholdning på lyd

Tusindvis af lydbøger og eksklusive podcasts fra kun 79,00 kr. / måned

Ingen reklamer

Spild ikke tiden på at lytte til reklamepauser, når du lytter til Podimos indhold.

Det får du

Andre eksklusive shows

Populære lydbøger